



### HISTORICAL SKETCH

# OF THE NATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL AND HOLINESS YOUTH MINISTRY (HYM) CONGRESS FORMALLY NATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL AND HOLINESS YOUNG PEOPLES UNION(HYPU) CONGRESS

YEAR	ADMINISTRATION	<u>ACCOMPLISHMENT</u>
1910	Professor Charles F. Jones	Organized HYPU
1940	Professor O. B. Cobbins	First President of the National SS and HYPU
1944	Bishop M. R. Conic	Instituted the Oratorical Contest
1948	Elder C. L. Carhee	First Congress president to serve eight years
1956	Professor Frank Moore	Created the departmental workshop for leadership training and development  Instituted the music contest
1964	Bishop Maurice Bingham	Congress motto was instituted "Geared to the times but anchored in the Rock"  Instituted Annual Fellowship Dinner  Fine Arts received award
1972	Elder Clarence R. Goodwin	Formed the IMPACT newsletter Bible Quiz rules was accepted





		<ul> <li>Named the following:</li> <li>Bishop Charles P. Jones Music contest</li> <li>Maude Conic Choral Competition</li> <li>C.C. Carhee Bible Quiz</li> <li>Rainer B. Wilson Fellowship Dinner</li> <li>O.W. McInnis Evangelistic Outreach Project</li> <li>Instituted the Youth of Year award</li> </ul>
1980	Bishop Emery Lindsay	Commissioned the writing of the Congress Handbook Started the Historical Minute Increased the competition awards amount Congress financially sound
1988	Bishop Lindsay E. Jones	Instituted the Drill Team Instituted Dr. John Plummer, Jr. Wholistic Ministry Grants
1996-2004	Brother Kerry J. Allen	First COCHUSA live recording Instituted the Diocese SS and HYM workshops Instituted the Kerry J. Allen Scholarship





2004 – 2012	Elder H. Vonzell Castilla	Instituted the Children Convention
		Instituted Operation Giveback and Young Adult Ministries (YAM)
		Renaming of HYPU to HYM (Holiness Youth Ministries)
		NAOMI DOLES MITCHELL SELLER GRANT
		NATIONAL YOUTH CONFERENCES
2012- PRESENT	DEA JAMES A TONY ROSS	FUNDED GRANT NDMSG
		REVISED WEBSITE
		INSTITUTED YOUTH CONVENTION
		DRAMA MINISTRY
		DEBATE TEAM MINISTRY





## PAST AND PRESENT OFFICERS NATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL & HYPU/HYM CONGRESS

### Past and Present Presidents

Professor Charles F. Jones
Rev. O. B. Cobbins, 1940-1944
Rev. M. R. Conic 1944-1948
Rev. C. L. Carhee, 1948-1956
Bro. Frank Moore, 1956-1964
Rev. Maurice D. Bingham, 1964-1972
Rev. Clarence R. Goodwin, 1972-1980
Rev. Emery Lindsay, 1980-1988
Rev. Lindsay E. Jones, 1988-1996
Bro. Carey J. Allen, 1996-2004
Eld. H. Vonzell Castilla, 2004-present

### 1956 Cabinet

Bro. Frank Moore, President
Rev. Samuel Kendrick, Vice President
Sis. Synolve Flakes, Secretary
Sis. Barbara Carter, Assistant Secretary
Sis. Shirley McInnis, Financial Secretary
Sis. Anita Bingham, Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Ralph L. Moore, Statistical Secretary
Rev. M. F. Brown, Treasurer

### 1960 Cabinet

Bro. Frank Moore, President Rev. Samuel Kendrick, Vice President





Sis. Synolve Flakes, Secretary
Sis. Barbara Carter, Assistant Secretary
Bro. Ralston McInnis, Financial Secretary
Sis. Jillian Conerly, Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Ralph L. Moore, Statistical Secretary
Rev. John Plummer, Treasurer

### PAST AND PRESENT OFFICERS NATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL & HYPU/HYM CONGRESS

### 1964 Cabinet

Rev. Maurice D. Bingham, President Bro. Rainer B. Wilson, Vice President Sis. Arveal Keetch, Secretary Sis. Elaine Malloy, Assistant Secretary Sis. Myrtle Callion, Financial Secretary Sis. Jillian Blackburn, Corresponding Secretary Bro. Ted Hicks, Statistical Secretary Rev. M. F. Brown, Treasurer Rev. Clarence R. Goodwin, Parliamentarian

### 1968 Cabinet

Rev. Maurice D. Bingham, President Bro. Rainer B. Wilson, Vice President Sis. Arveal Keetch, Secretary Sis. Elaine Malloy, Assistant Secretary Sis. Myrtle Callion, Financial Secretary Sis. Altheria Weir, Corresponding Secretary Bro. Ted Hicks, Statistical Secretary Rev. Clarence R. Goodwin, Parliamentarian





Sis. Genevieve McInnis, Registrar

### 1972 Cabinet

Rev. Clarence R. Goodwin, President Rev. Percy M. Dixon, Vice President Sis. Genevieve McInnis, Secretary Sis. Geraldine L. Jones, Assistant Secretary Sis. Minerva Douglas, Financial Secretary Sis. Varia Jones, Corresponding Secretary Sis. Alma Sutton, Statistical Secretary Bro. St. Elmo Sutton, Treasurer Sis. Eugenia Brumfield, Registrar

### PAST AND PRESENT OFFICERS NATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL & HYPU/HYM CONGRESS

### 1976 Cabinet

Rev. Clarence R. Goodwin, President Rev. Percy M. Dixon, Vice President Sis. Genevieve McInnis, Secretary Sis. Geraldine L. Jones, Assistant Secretary Bro. Vernon Kennebrew, Financial Secretary Sis. Varia Jones Larry, Corresponding Secretary Sis. Alma Sutton Miller, Statistical Secretary Bro. James Harper, Treasurer Sis. Eugenia Brumfield, Registrar





### 1980 Cabinet

Rev. Emery Lindsay, President
Rev. Vernon Kennebrew, Vice President
Sis. Geraldine L. Jones, Secretary
Sis. Magolia Castilla, Assistant Secretary
Sis. Angela Brown, Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Wesley Goodwin, Statistical Secretary
Bro. James Harper, Treasurer
Rev. Arnold Stanton, Registrar

### 1984 Cabinet

Rev. Emery Lindsay, President
Rev. Vernon Kennebrew, Vice President
Sis. Geraldine L. Jones, Secretary
Sis. Magolia Castilla, Assistant Secretary
Sis. Shirley McClendon, Financial Secretary
Sis. Angela Brown, Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Wesley Goodwin, Statistical Secretary
Bro. Tommie Florence, Treasurer
Bro. John McDonald, Registrar

### PAST AND PRESENT OFFICERS NATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL & HYPU/HYM CONGRESS

### 1988 Cabinet

Eld. Lindsay E. Jones, President Bro. Kerry J. Allen, Vice President Sis. Shirley McClendon, Secretary





Sis. Cynthia Broxton, Assistant Secretary Bro. Osborne Turner, Financial Secretary Sis. Magolia Castilla, Corresponding Secretary Sis. Beverly Golden, Statistical Secretary Bro. Tommie Florence, Treasurer Elder Carey Brown, Registrar

### 1992 Cabinet

Eld.Lindsay E. Jones, President
Bro. Kerry J. Allen, Vice President
Sis Shirley McClendon, Secretary
Sis Cynthia Broxton, Assistant Secretary
Bro. Lucien Gochett, Financial Secretary
Sis.Magolia Castilla, Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Michael Thomas, Statistical Secretary
Bro. Osborne Turner, Treasurer

### 1996-2003 Cabinet

Bro. Kerry J. Allen, President
Minister H. Vonzell Castilla, Vice President
Sis.Earlene Smith, Secretary
Sis Mary J. Roberts, Assistant Secretary
Bro. Gregory Wilson, Sr., Financial Secretary
Bro. Darrell L. Whitaker, Corresponding Secretary
Sis.Elisha Campbell, Statistical Secretary
Bro. John McDonald, Treasurer

### 2004-2011 Cabinet

Eld.H. Vonzell Castilla, President
Bro. Huey Augustine, Vice President
Sis.Shenitha Pridgen, Secretary
Sis.Tiandra Anderson Bland, Assistant Secretary
Minister Daniel Kennebrew, Financial Secretary
Sis.Sharon K. Johnson Cherry, Corresponding Secretary





Bro. Ricardo Brown, Statistical Secretary Deacon James A.Tony Ross, Treasurer Sis.Beverly Golden, Internal Auditor

2012 – PRESENT Cabinet
Deacon James A. Tony Ross, President
Minister Daniel Kennebrew, Vice President
Sis Sharon Cherry, Secretary
Sis Yolanda Mondy, Assistant Secretary
Sis Elisha Campbell, Financial Secretary
Deacon John McDonald, Treasurer
Sis Carolyn Winn, Corresponding Secretary
Attorney Kevin Golden Esq., Statistical Secretary
Sis Norris Booker, Internal Auditor